Membership Roster

Jennifer Haverkamp, Co-chair, Graham Family Director, Graham Sustainability Institute and Professor from Practice, Michigan Law School, University of Michigan

Stephen Forrest, Co-chair, Peter A. Franken Distinguished University Professor of Engineering, Paul G. Goebel Professor of Engineering, and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Physics, and Material Science and Engineering, University of Michigan

Henry Baier, Associate Vice President for Facilities and Operations, University of Michigan

Andrew Berki, Director, Office of Campus Sustainability, University of Michigan

Anthony Denton, Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, University of Michigan Health System, Michigan Medicine

Brandon Hofmeister, Senior Vice President of Governmental, Regulatory and Public Affairs, Consumers Energy

James Paul Holloway, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, College of Engineering, and Vice Provost for Global Engagement and Interdisciplinary Academic Affairs, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of Michigan

Gregory Keoleian, Director, Center for Sustainable Systems, Peter M. Wege Professor of Sustainable Systems, School for Environment and Sustainability, and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Michigan

Larissa Larsen, Associate Professor of Urban and Regional Planning, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan

Jonathan Overpeck, Samuel A. Graham Dean and Professor, William B. Stapp Collegiate Professor, School for Environment and Sustainability, Professor of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, College of Engineering, and Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, University of Michigan

Barry Rabe, J. Ira and Nicki Harris Family Professor of Public Policy, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Environmental Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan

Camilo Serna, Vice President Corporate Strategy, DTE

Anna Stefanopoulou, William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering, and Director, University of Michigan Energy Institute, University of Michigan

Missy Stults, Sustainability & Innovations Manager for the City of Ann Arbor

Lisa Wozniak, Executive Director of the Michigan League of Conservation Voters

Austin Glass, U-M Doctoral Student

Logan Vear, U-M Undergraduate Student

Advisory Panels

The commission will be supported by at least four advisory panels (listed below). The purpose of the panels is to bring various perspectives and expertise to the work of the commission and to broaden the commission’s engagement with key stakeholder groups. These panels will be organized by the commission co-chairs as the commission gets underway.

Student Advisory Panel

Many undergraduate and graduate students from all three U-M campuses are deeply interested in and committed to sustainability and many students have focused their studies and research at U-M on the problems associated with climate change. These students will be active and critical partners in the commission’s work. The Student Advisory Panel will serve as a resource for the commission, helping to bring forward student ideas and issues and engaging the student community on all three campuses.

Faculty Expert Advisory Panel

Many U-M faculty members are leading scholars and researchers in areas that will be explored by the commission including but not limited to climate change, energy, economics, public policy and human behavior. This panel will be a group of faculty and other experts that will be called upon by the commission as it explores various questions and solutions related to lowering emissions and achieving carbon neutrality. The commission has received many suggestions for faculty resources from the deans of the schools and colleges and through the commission web form.

University Advisory Panel

Given the broad scope of the commission’s charge, there are many U-M units, groups and offices that are critical to the commission’s work in understanding the current state, exploring approaches and solutions for different campuses and areas of the university and engaging key communities throughout the process. This panel will include representatives from: UM-Dearborn; UM-Flint; UM-Athletics; Michigan Medicine; Government Relations; Communications; Office of Student Life; Utilities; Architecture, Engineering and Construction (AEC); Logistics, Transportation and Parking; and Office of the University Planner. Other units and offices may be added as the work develops.

External Advisory Panel

 This will be a group of external advisors drawn from the ranks of knowledgeable and interested parties in the university’s broader orbit. It may include other regional community members, business representatives, alumni and members of other external advisory groups active at the university in relevant areas.

Commission Support

Andrew Horning, Administrative Director for the Commission, Institute Managing Director, Graham Sustainability Institute, University of Michigan

Liz Barry, Liaison to the President, Special Counsel to the President, Office of the President, University of Michigan