Vice President for Communications Search

The University of Michigan has launched a search for its next Vice President for Communications.

President Ono has appointed a 10-member search advisory committee, chaired by David Gier, dean and professor of music, School of Music, Theater & Dance.

Inquiries, nominations, and applications are invited. Review of applications will continue until the position is filled, but for fullest consideration, applicant materials are encouraged to be submitted by Friday, December 23, 2022. Candidates should provide a resume or curriculum vitae and a letter of application that addresses the candidate’s experience and qualifications relative to the responsibilities and requirements described. Candidate confidentiality will be respected to the highest degree allowable under the laws of the State of Michigan. Confidential inquiries, nominations, and applications may be directed to Isaacson, Miller.

On March 23, 2023 Richie Hunter was appointed to the position of Vice President for Communications.

David Gier (Chair), Dean and Professor of Music, School of Music, Theater & Dance

Sara Billmann, Vice President of Marketing and Communications, University Musical Society

Adele Brumfield, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

James DeVaney, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Innovation and Founding Executive Director of the Center for Academic Innovation

John Lofy, Executive Director of Marketing and Communications, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Rose Glenn, Chief Communications & Marketing Officer, Michigan Medicine and Lecturer I in Communications and Media, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Martino Harmon, Vice President for Student Life, Office of the Vice President for Student Life

Josh Pasek, Associate Professor of Communications and Media and Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and Faculty Associate, Center for Political Studies, Institute for Social Research

Sean Rositano, Masters of Social Work student, School of Social Work

Kurt Svoboda, Associate Athletic Director of External Communications and Public Relations, Michigan Athletics

Staff to the Committee:

Steve Yaros, Director of Projects, Initiatives, and Budget, Office of the President

Lynnetta Smith, Project Manager, Office of the President

Devon Redmond, Senior Administrative Assistant, Office of the President