Honorary Degree Committee Membership


Committee Chair

Michael J. Solomon
Dean, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, Professor of Chemical Engineering, Professor of Macromolecular Science and Engineering.


Ex-Officio Members

Sally Churchill
Vice President and Secretary of the University

Susan M. Collins
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Tom Baird
Vice President for Development

Kallie Bila Michels
Vice President for Communications

Mark S. Schlissel

Chris Kolb
Vice President for Government Relations

Note: The following members are appointed by the Board of Regents.


University Senate Members (7)

Ann Arbor Campus (5)

Peggy McCracken
Director, Institute for the Humanities, Mary Fair Croushore Professor of the Humanities, Professor of French, Women’s Studies and Comparative Literature, College of Literature, Sciences and the Arts

Eugene Rogers
Director of Choral Activities and Associate Professor of Conducting, School of Music, Theatre and Dance

Margaret Wooldridge
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Professor, Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering

Donald Likosky
Associate Professor of Cardiac Surgery, Department of Cardiac Surgery, Medical School

Lisa Nevett
Director of Interdepartmental Program in Classical Art & Archaeology, and Professor of Classical Archaeology, Deprtment of Classical Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Dearborn Campus (1)

Vivek Singh
Professor of Accounting and Finance
UM Dearborn – College of Business

Flint Campus (1)

Min Huang
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
UM Flint – College of Health Sciences

Student Members (2)

Marshall Case
Ph.D. Student, College of Engineering

Cydney Gardner-Brown
Undergraduate Student, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Alumni/ae Representatives (2)

Robert Nederlander, Jr.
New York, NY

Gwendolyn Hatten Butler
Chicago, IL

Committee Staff

John Godfrey
Assistant Dean for International Education
Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies

Stephen Yaros
Senior Project Manager, Office of the President