Selection Advisory Committee, 2014-15


Martin Philbert, PhD, Dean, School of Public Health and Professor of Toxicology, University of Michigan, (committee chair)

Huda Akil, PhD, Gardner C. Quarton Distinguished University Professor of Neurosciences, Professor of Psychiatry, Co-director and Research Professor, Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, University of Michigan

Matthew L. Boulton, MD, MPH, Senior Associate Dean for Global Public Health; Professor of Epidemiology; Professor of Preventive Medicine; Professor of Health Management & Policy, School of Public Health, and Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease, School of Medicine, University of Michigan

Alfred Franzblau, MD, Vice Provost for Academic and Budgetary Affairs, Office of the Provost, and Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, University of Michigan

Joseph Kolars, MD, Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives, Josiah Macy Jr. Professor of Health Professions Education, Professor of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan Medical School

Marschall S. Runge, MD, PhD, Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Michigan

Donna Shalala, PhD, President and Professor of Political Science, University of Miami

Kathleen Sienko, PhD, Miller Faculty Scholar Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering; Miller Faculty Scholar Associate Professor Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering; Co-Director, Humanitarian Technology Institute

Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS, Dean Emeritus, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; University Distinguished Service Professor and Gilman Scholar, Johns Hopkins University; TFJM Medal Recipient (2010)

Committee Staff Support

Lisa Connolly, Senior Manager for Executive Searches, Awards, and Select Committees, Office of the President

Terri W. Mellow, Senior Media Strategist, School of Public Health, Dean’s Office



The Thomas Francis Jr. Medal in Global Public Health is awarded every three to five years.

The University invites nominations for the medal from a wide range of individuals around the world who are knowledgeable about global public health. The medal recipient is recommended to the president by a selection advisory committee appointed by the president of the University, consisting of:

  • Three faculty from the University of Michigan—one from the School of Public Health, one from the Medical School, and one from any school or college of the University;
  • Three distinguished scholars, officials, or leaders in public health or medicine external to the University of Michigan;
  • The provost, the executive vice president for medical affairs, and the dean of the School of Public Health of the University of Michigan.
  • A University of Michigan leader in global public health.

The selection advisory committee will seek advice from a panel of additional experts as needed in making its recommendation.


The nominee should not be informed that his or her name has been put forward. Not all excellent individuals can be recognized, and knowledge of a failed nomination can be embarrassing and harmful. Further, the nominator should not solicit letters of support on behalf of the nominee from people outside the University. If additional information is needed regarding a nomination the Office of the President will coordinate on its own or by contacting the nominator.

Nomination Deadline

TFJM nominations can be made to: