The advisory committee is appointed by the president and is composed of 10 to 15 members of the University community—faculty, administrators, staff, and/or students—whose expertise and perspectives contribute to the planning and consideration of public art with respect to its academic, aesthetic, fundraising and practical dimensions. The Director of the Museum of Art and the University Planner are ex officio voting members of the committee. The chair of the committee is an individual appointed by the president—typically a member of the faculty—who is knowledgeable and accomplished in the assessment of the aesthetic and academic dimensions of art.

Committee Members

Christina Olsen, Chair
Director and Curator, University of Michigan Museum of Art

Barbara Ackley
Assistant Vice President for Development, International Giving and Presidential Development Activities

Tom Baird
Vice President for Development

Liz Barry
Special Counsel to the President

Lee Doyle
Chief Freedom of Information Officer; Director, University of Michigan Film Office; Director, Communications Policy and Administration

Susan Gott
University Planner

Gary Krenz
Executive Director of the Bicentennial Office and Lecturer I in Philosophy, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Laura Lein
Katherine Reebel Collegiate Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work; Professor of Anthropology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Terrence McDonald
Director, Bentley Historical Library and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of History, College of Literature, Science and the Arts

Gunalan Nadarajan
Dean and Professor of Art and Design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design

Alexander Potts
Max Loehr Collegiate Professor of the History of Art and Professor of History of Art, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Peter Sparling
Rudolf Arnheim Distinguished Professor of Dance and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Dance, School of Music, Theatre & Dance

Xiaobing Tang
Helmut F. Stern Professor of Modern Chinese Studies and Comparative Literature, Asian Languages and Cultures