President’s Advisory Committee on University History


The committee will advise the President of the University on matters relating to the history and traditions of the University that require historical interpretation, sensitivity, and expertise. The agenda for the committee will be determined by the Office of the President as issues come to it requiring advice of this nature. The committee will provide to the President a report that discusses the historical dimensions of the issue in question, the impact of various approaches to the issue on the University’s appreciation and maintenance of its history and traditions, and recommendations of actions for consideration.

The committee will meet once per year and also as required when issues arise. The Office of the President will provide administrative support for the committee.



The committee will consist of six to ten members appointed by the President. Membership will include faculty are who expert in historical interpretation, as well as others who have special knowledge of the history and traditions of the University. The President shall appoint the chair of the committee.

Committee Members

Liz Barry
Special Counsel to the President

Fran Blouin
Professor of Information, School of Information
Professor of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Kristin Hass
Associate Professor of American Culture Program
Director Graduate Studies, American Culture, LSA
Adjunct Associate Professor, Penny W Stamps School of Art and Design

Howard Markel
George E Wantz, M.D. Professor of the History of Medicine
Director, Center for the History of Medicine

Terrence McDonald (Chair)
Arthur F Thurnau Professor, Professor of History, College of Literature, Science and the Arts Director, Bentley Historical Library

Tiya Miles
Elsa Barkley Brown Collegiate Professor of African American Women’s History
Chair, DAAS, Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies
Professor of American Culture Program
Professor of History & Professor of Women’s Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Alexander Potts
Max Loehr Collegiate of the History of Art
Professor of History of Art, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts


Jamie Brandon
Assistant to the Special Counsel, Office of the President

Angela Clark
Business Manager, Bentley Historical Library